IPB Style© Fisana

How to grow leeks

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_4r2_*

Guest_4r2_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 January 2006 - 10:35 PM

Last summer a farmers market vendor introduced me to leeks. What a wonderful vegetable with such a lousy name! Following the vendors advice, I now add leeks to many dishes. I brown it with meat, where the mild leeks pick up the meat flavor, serving as a low-calorie "extender". They may look like scallions, but they sure don't taste like them.

Now the seed catalogs are tempting me to add some to my garden next year. Would I be better off ordering sets? I get the sense that they're a long season crop and I'm not too good at starting veggies from seed.

How do you grow them? How do you keep them? Sometimes I can't find them in the produce section of the store and I have a feeling that I can keep them a long time like you can carrots or potatoes. Any tips?

#2 Janet Macunovich

Janet Macunovich
  • Members
  • 0 posts

Posted 07 January 2006 - 10:53 PM

Hi

Could it be there's a "leek pusher" out there this year? Because I, too, got turned on to leeks by a farmer's market seller this year. Never having grown them I'kll wait here with you, hoping we'll catch an expert opinion!

#3 PamPalechek

PamPalechek
  • Members
  • 0 posts

Posted 09 January 2006 - 02:24 AM